This is me.

This is me.

I was born in rural Iowa, though not on a farm, thank you very much.  At the age of five, my family moved to the booming metropolis of Cedar Rapids, where I stayed until high school graduation.  I went to college at the University of Minnesota, where I was introduced the sensation of having the inside of your nostrils actually freeze.  The payoff was, I met most of my closest friends.  When I was 22, the opportunity to move to Germany arose and I tentatively took it.  I’m now typing this from my very own kitchen, on my very own IKEA table, in my own apartment in Berlin, where I’ve been living for over 3 years now.  I plan to be here until it doesn’t excite me anymore.  

Of course, that little personal history glosses over quite a bit of my life.  I’ve been through a lot of tough times…which sucked, and have left me with a painfully sarcastic (public) outlook on life, as well as a (very secret internal) optimistic side.  The upside is, I think I’ve dealt with several of the uglier things life has to offer, and I survived.  I also hope (here’s my optimism creepin’ out) that I’ve “paid my dues” to a certain extent and can live out the rest of my life relatively hassle-free.  

A day in the life

A day in the life. I'm a first grade teacher, which leaves me a lot of things to be sarcastic about. I truly think kids are fascinating and I love how pure their hearts are (I mean that sincerely). Unfortunately, they come with parents. More on that later.

I’ve never written a blog…Actually, I’d never even read a blog until last week, so bear with me.  I’ll do my best to come up with something interesting.

About biguinberlin

I am a mid-moving-toward-late-twentysomething Iowan living in Berlin. I moved here as a nanny, which quickly fizzled, and have been teaching English immersion at an international elementary school for the last 3+ years. Although I (usually) have the patience of a saint when it comes to children, my fuse runs short when it comes to other adults. On an average day, I interact with many, many strange, socially inept and just plain annoying people. Read my posts to hear about my strange encounters and the gripes that result from them.

One response »

  1. mplsheather says:

    I love that secret side of you 😉

Leave a Reply

