In this week’s edition of The New Yorker, David Sedaris [pictured below] wrote a very funny commentary re undecided voters.  For the full piece.  Ignore the fact that The New Yorker‘s editorial staff officially endorsed Obama in their October 13th issue, ignore also (although I, personally, won’t) that below commentary is suggesting the GOP canidate is the latter dish, what’s important is that not deciding AT ALL is like chosing the shit end of the stick.

 

“I don’t know that it was always this way, but, for as long as I can remember, just as we move into the final weeks of the Presidential campaign the focus shifts to the undecided voters. “Who are they?” the news anchors ask. “And how might they determine the outcome of this election?”

Then you’ll see this man or woman— someone, I always think, who looks very happy to be on TV. “Well, Charlie,” they say, “I’ve gone back and forth on the issues and whatnot, but I just can’t seem to make up my mind!” Some insist that there’s very little difference between candidate A and candidate B. Others claim that they’re with A on defense and health care but are leaning toward B when it comes to the economy.

I look at these people and can’t quite believe that they exist. Are they professional actors? I wonder. Or are they simply laymen who want a lot of attention?

To put them in perspective, I think of being on an airplane. The flight attendant comes down the aisle with her food cart and, eventually, parks it beside my seat. “Can I interest you in the chicken?” she asks. “Or would you prefer the platter of shit with bits of broken glass in it?”

To be undecided in this election is to pause for a moment and then ask how the chicken is cooked.”

2 responses »

  1. kirsey says:

    I’m guesing you mean that personally, you are, decided, not undecided! And I hope it has cooled down in LA, worried about ya.

  2. leDeb says:

    Great minds!! I saw this article and I was going to post it! Love it.

Leave a Reply

