It’s exactly what you think. 

Maybe.

 I love looking at naked puppies (that is, I don’t find clothed puppies particularly adorable, they’re more sad to me). It makes me so happy to see a fat naked little lover (sounds sexual, not purposeful. I often refer to baby animals as little lovers). I think if any other person knew how often I Google things like, “fat puppies,” “puppies with big paws,” “lab puppies,” etc., it would creep them out. 

 

 

During the Super Bowl the Animal Planet plays this four-hour program called “The Puppy Bowl.” It’s just puppies running around on an Astroturf mini football field (with a kitten half-time show. But since cats don’t do shit, it’s kind of like watching paint dry. Yeah, they get ’em all hyped up on cat nip, but the kittens just kind of lay and paw/swat and strings. yawn).  When each new puppy comes out on the field the camera zooms in and does a little profile name, breed, hobbies (like catching the Frisbee, chewing on shoes, chasing cars), etc. In the end-zones there are glass water bowls recessed in the ground with cameras so you can see the little pink tongues lapping up the water and their little padded paws in the bowl trying to dig at the camera. I had Puppy Bowl II & III saved on my tivo at my old place forever. Everytime I was pissed off or bored or cleaning the house I put the PB on. Omfg, it’s the cutest thing in the world.

 

You’re probably wondering if there’s a point here, not really. But I thought I’d share my obsession- I mean, Kirsten asked what we do to get through a Monday, and I guess this is my long-winded answer.  Except for it’s kind of an everyday thing at work.  When I have to talk to an annoying author about whether this particular swear word is offensive or effective or if this particular blog is credible and worthy of having their book reviewed or if like being # 1,100,000,999 on Amazon.com’s Best Seller’s list is a bad thing, etc, I fake attentiveness while Googling something like, “fat bellied puppy,” and smile and listen.

 

My voyeurism has recently been exposed. My darling intern was asking me a question, I couldn’t minimize the screen quickly, and I was busted. She quickly commented, “What are you looking at?”

 

Ugh! Awkward…{cough}… “Um…puppies.”

 

“I l-o-v-e puppies!”

 

“Really?!”

 

“YES! Do you ever go on cuteoverload.com?” 

 

“Jigga, whaaa?”

 

cuteoverload.com

 

You guys! Cute puppy mecca!!! But it gets better.  Bunnies! Bears! And, drum roll, the super-mega-cute-power-house BABY PANDA BEARS.  Now, I knon you’re thinking I’ve totally lost it but, pause

 

Wait for it

 

Wait for it

 

HOW CUTE IS THIS FACE?!!!!!!!!

 

 

 

 

And what’s better is trying to think of a funny caption for this little nugget.  My personal favorite, “ I’m not a crook.”

 

Awww, I just love that little panda.

 

One response »

  1. Kirsey says:

    I hate to break it to you Stephy, but I think that panda has been super-imposed. But he does look scared shitless, like the zoo keeper is coming to get him!

Leave a Reply

