If you have a meal you need to prepare this weekend or this winter, I have a really wonderful white chili recipe.  I’m not much of a foodie, but just ask my roomie Abby and she’ll tell you we do a fair amount of cooking.  I have to mix up my meals, I can’t make the same thing twice in one week; it sounds weird but it’s kind of like not wearing the same shirt in the same week.  I mean, there is nothing wrong with either of these things, it’s just not something I do (except for pajamas).

White Chicken Chili, perfect for MN Winters:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1T olive oil
  • 1 large onion (I used yellow, but like white too, not red)
  • 4 garlic cloves (minced)
  • 2 4-oz. cans chopped green chiles
  • 4 cups cooked shredded chicken
  • 2t ground cumin
  • 1.5t dried oregano
  • .25t cayenne or crushed red peppers (I put a little of both in)
  • 3 16-oz. cans Great Northern Beans, drained and rinsed
  • 6 cups chicken broth
  • 3 cups grated monterey jack cheese
  • salt
  • pepper (white pepper is great)
  • sour cream (optional)
  • tortilla chips (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

  • Cook chicken if not already done, cut up or shred
  • Heat oil in large heavy pot with onions, about 10 minutes
  • Add garlic, chiles, chicken, cumin, oregano and hot pepper
  • Saute 2 minutes
  • Add beans and chicken broth
  • Bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer 2 hours (if you don’t have this kind of time, let boil for 15-20 minutes without a cover, broth will reduce quicker)
  • Add 1-2 cups of grated cheese (save extra for on top of chili)
  • Stir until thick and melted
  • Season with salt and pepper, serve with extra cheese, sour cream and tortilla chips!

I know it looks kind of long, but really it only takes about 30-40 minutes, after you grocery shop of course.  I hope you all enjoy your weekends and stay warm with some delicious chili.

One response »

  1. Kari says:

    I made this yesterday – DELICIOUS!!!! I’m having leftovers for lunch and am counting down the minutes until I can dive into that bowl of goodness. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

