Dear Bloody Mary,

You don’t look a day older than the time I first met you (flying, hungover no less, from MPLS to Denver with Michael), you 75-year-old-sass you.  You donned simply Mr. and Mrs. T’s tomato and an airplane size bottle of SKKY; after all these years, dear friend, I can say that was not your best look.  We became better acquainted in Boulder that same weekend at a breakfast joint that vastly underestimated your worth, selling you for a measly $2 a pop.  But, Mary, let’s be honest, I wouldn’t have spent so much time with you had you been priced higher. 

 

I felt like our friendship reached a new level when Sasha and I drove to Alaska.  We met so many of your relatives, Mary, and really got to see a lot of sides to you.  Cheese cubes showed your softer side, cold shrimp showed your fearlessness, horseradish your sophistication, and jalapeno juice your youth and vivacity.  Mary, some mornings you’re the only thing that makes me want to get up.  I love meeting you at the Whaler.  Sunday evenings, you, me, nachos, karaoke—ahh, the memories.

 

 

My liquid meal, my love, my Mary; Happy Birthday.

 

 

 

 

Happy Birthday Bloody Mary! 75 years of hair-of-the-dog goodness!

Bloody mary Think Monday is your sober recovery from a weekend of drinking? Not today kiddies. December 1st is the 75th Birthday of one of Barfly’s favorite cocktail’s: The Bloody Mary. Buck up – you’ve got some daytime drinking to do!

The drink was created in Manhattan by famous French bartender Ferdinande Petiot when he came to the city in 1933. To celebrate his creation (and countless hair-of-the-dog mornings), New York officials are holding a Bloody Mary toast at 11:30 am in the middle of Times square at 1552 Broadway).

The powerful Bloody Mary lobby is hard at work, and plan on holding events throughout the year. Bloody good. The cocktail was originally called the “Red Snapper” because the term bloody was considered harsh for a drink in the 1930s. When Tabasco sauce was added to the drink, the name “Bloody Mary” took hold.

In the 1960s it became popular to serve the cocktail with celery due to a guest at the Ambassador East Hotel in Chicago. We don’t know about you gentle reader, but we got extra drunk last night so we can properly enjoy our Bloody Mary during today’s glorious celebration. We just hope we don’t throw up before we make it to Times Square (Jager-bombs in celebration of a cocktail’s birthday = a bloody bad idea).

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Kirsey says:

    This made me smile, more than 10 times!

  2. Ab says:

    I have come to realize that I love Mary on mornings/days/nights when I am not hungover. If I am hungover and try to hang, I feel even more like death. Why Mary, why do you do this to me??

  3. mplsheather says:

    This was very well written, happy birthday Mary! We all have a special place in our hearts for you!

Leave a Reply

