I saw The Reader on Sunday evening. I’m not one to write film reviews – I’m not as savvy as A.O. Scott or as punchy as the late Pauline Kael – but I simply must say that everyone should see this film.

 

It’s not flashy and I guarantee it will have a hard time finding an audience. Post WWII Germany. The story revolves around a young boy and his affair with an older woman. One day, she simply disappears. A few years down the road, he encounters her as she defends herself in a war-crime trial. He has the ability to help her. Does he? Should he?

 

This film is beautiful. Beautifully scripted and shot and acted. The relationship between the two main characters is passionate and fragile. It’s heart-wrenching, but then at the very end, it’s uplifting. Subtly. There are few films that have left me in my seat, silently crying, hoping that no one will notice. This is one of them.

One response »

  1. stephoh says:

    wow! i was on the fence about seeing this movie, it’s totally going on my queue.

Leave a Reply

