boheme2

One day, some people came to the master and asked: “How can you be so happy in a world of such impermanence, where you cannot protect your loved ones from harm, illness, and death?”  The master held up a glass and said: “Someone gave me this glass, and I really like this glass.  It holds my water admirably and it glistens in the sunlight.  I touch it and it rings! One day the wind may blow it off the shelf, or my elbow may knock it from the table.  I know this glass is already broken, so I enjoy it – incredibly.”

 

~ Achaan Chah Subato, Theravadan meditation master

 

 

 

 

 

Disclaimer: I cannot take any credit for this posting. I borrowed it from my blog crush.

 

Leave a Reply

