I got this fun list of questions from a blogger that pretty much has defined the world of blogging, Heather Armstrong from http://www.dooce.com. I am a little obsessed with her, checking her blog at least once a day, and usually more than that, however I am unwilling to tell you exactly how many that might be. She posted these questions a little while back and I found them interesting being I am a newly married lady. You can fill in your own answers just to get your mind thinking about your husband, fiance, boyfriend or boy who you would like to bang, I don’t judge.

What are your middle names?
My middle name is Ann, Ted’s middle name is Theodore. Ted’s real first name is Kevin, but since that’s his dad’s name, he’s gone by Ted, his middle name, his whole life.

How long have you been together?
We’ve been married for just over one month, since Jan. 17th, 2009, but we’ve been dating since May 2005.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?
Since government class in the 9th grade.  Both had braces, both had crushes on the other, nothing happened.

Who asked whom out?
I think I asked him out.  He wasn’t the ‘girlfriend type’ and wasn’t very forward.  When I want something I go get it.

How old are each of you?
We’re both 26, soon to be 27 this summer.

Whose siblings do you see the most?
We see both the same amount pretty much.  Ted’s sister lives on the same street 4 blocks away, my sister lives about 20 minutes away but we are extremely close.  Ted’s brother is the floater who we see the least.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
This is a tough one.  I have two.  First, Ted and I both have very different communication skills, so when we get into arguments I need to talk until I am blue in the face and he internalizes everything so then I talk more because I try to get him to talk.  It really drives us both crazy.  Other than that, I don’t think that either of us are satisfied with where we are in our lives.  He wants to do something that actually makes a difference in the world and I support him, but figuring out what that is while maintaining two full time jobs makes it tough for us.  He wants to help cure world hunger, and AIDS in Africa, but it’s like we don’t have the time, which is the lamest excuse I’ve ever heard.

Did you go to the same school?
Yes, we both went to Edina High School in MN, both went to University of WI-Madison, but I graduated with a Communication Arts degree, him a Biochemistry degree.

Are you from the same home town?
Yes, Edina, MN

Who is smarter?
Oh my god, Ted is WAY smarter.  I’m not even in his league.  It’s one of my favorite things…asking him a question about pretty much anything and he’ll have an answer.  You’ll want him on your Trivial Pursuit team, trust me on this.

Who is the most sensitive?
Umm, ME.

Where do you eat out most as a couple?
We eat out at local places by our house in Mpls.  Probably the little pizza/pasta joint Broders or ice cream at Sebastian Joes.

 Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico…three times.

Who has the craziest exes?
I do.  It would require Ted to have exes for him to win this question.

Who has the worst temper?
I do.  In fact, I have only seen Ted lose his cool a handful of times.  It makes me want to shake the shit out of him he’s so laid back.

Who does the cooking?
Me for sure.  Ted tutors high schoolers in math and science 4 days a week after he gets off work, so by default I cook.  But I like it that way, and he never complains…good man.

Who is the neat-freak?
I can’t say that either of us win on this one.  We both are neat in our own ways, I like the kitchen clean, he likes his stuff in order, it actually works out real well.

Who is more stubborn?
Boy, that’s me. 

Who hogs the bed?
Ted would say that I do, but I think that Ted does.  At the end of the day it’s our 16 lb. shit-zoo who controls the bed like a Great Dane.

Who wakes up earlier?
I do.  I have more things to do in the morning.  Make-up, shampoo AND condition, make coffee, even though we both leave the house at the same time.

Where was your first date?
Pepito’s Mexican Restaurant, Mpls. MN

Who is more jealous?
Neither of us are jealous people, I call it a tie.  Once again, I have more exes so more to be jealous of.  I’ve also been to Australia…it’s a large topic of contention.

How long did it take to get serious?
We were pretty much serious after the first month.  It took Ted that long to kiss me, but apparently I was so good that he basically moved in a month after that.

Who eats more?
DANG, ME!  Ted lives on carrots and lettuce, it’s like he’s a rabbit or some human that was scientifically and genetically altered.  I’m like, “Can we please get McDonalds”, he’s like, “You can, but I’m going to eat a protein shake mixed with wheat germ, lemmon grass, spinach and just a dash of honey for flavor.”  Who can go to McDonlds after that?

Who does the laundry?
We both do, but he is limited to his clothes and the towels.  Let’s just say there are shirts that can now fit Barbie that once fit a human.

Who’s better with the computer?
Ted, no question.  I don’t care enough.

Who drives when you are together?
I do.  Mostly because we usually take my car since it is a Honday CRV and a little bigger than his Altima, but also because I am a control freak and need to be able to be behind the wheel so I don’t end up in Ted’s lap while he is driving.

2 responses »

  1. ebats says:

    Aw, jeez. You two make such an adorable picture– my sis is getting married this summer to The Dude Nobody Likes (DNL), so I LOVE reading stuff like this from people who are, like, lovely and fun and normal and actually in love. It makes me so hopeful!
    and a little envious. i wish i could fill out the survey, esp since I love dooce (I used to get all mesmerized by the photos she put up every day…), but that would require a dude. i should get one. ooh! i bet i could find a good handcrafted one on etsy! 😛

  2. ash says:

    okay so, i read heather’s blog too! i’ve been reading it for a couple of years now and have always felt so creepy that i know all about a total stranger’s life and get excited when good things happen to her and upset when bad things happen and i more than occasionally used to talk about her to friends like i knew her well but i DON’T.

    i had always weirded myself out about this, but now, i know that i’m not alone and i feel so much less creepy.

    rock on, rockjuice.

Leave a Reply

