I’ve never been one to be decidedly upset over celebrity lives. I mean, I care, of course I care, that Paul Newman passed away and Princess Diana and Aliyah.  But, I don’t get emotional about it.  As far as I can remember, there have been three incidents that come to mind that have truly upset my personal life from the celebrity sphere.

 

Exhibit A.

Reese Witherspoon and Ryan Philippe’s divorce. OM-fucking-G, does anyone in Hollywood have gumption? I love Reese. Who doesn’t? I love her in the way that you love the senior Dance Line Captain {cough, Kathleen} in all her perfection when you’re a sophomore at Edina High School.  I want to be like her.  Hearing that Ryan and Reese were divorcing was (pathetic, I admit) like hearing my parents were divorcing.  You just totally do not expect it or see it coming or want it to happen or whatever. And, I now believe that Ryan P. is the biggest a-hole ever. Who cheats on Reese? God. Anyway, in walks Hottie McHoterson Jack Gyallan-whatever and it’s all to the good. But, Reese should be allowed to be above heartbreak.

 

Exhibit B.

The recent incident with Chris Brown and Rihanna. This also deserves an OM-fucking-G. You* do not hit girls. You do not hit girls. You do not hit girls.

 

*Chris Brown, any man, boy, woman, other girl.

 

 

Exhibit C.

I’ve cried more about this man than I care to admit. Abby can vouch for my three month obsession with him where everything out my mouth was DFW.

 

There are no words to describe what a loss this is, celebrity, literary, and otherwise.  It’s been five months and I still found myself crying while reading this article.

3 responses »

  1. leDeb says:

    I just finished reading that article about DFW. I never followed his work, didn’t know who he was before he died and yet I found myself caught up in all of it and that article hit me like a ton of bricks.

    I also echo your sentiments about Reese. Abby Cornish over Reese? Please.

  2. ebats says:

    oh man…the whole chris/rihanna thing has been really nagging at me. i’ve been mostly avoiding the mags/tv that report on it because it makes me so angry…
    maybe because i bought my ten year old cousin rihanna’s cd for christmas this year, and now i have this infuriated fear that, just because the kid likes whatever the hot rihanna song is, she will somehow let some jackass hurt her someday. which is absurd…but still scares the shit out of me.

    maybe also because i’ve been thinking about this:
    http://www.racialicious.com/2008/12/21/original-essay-the-not-rape-epidemic/
    since a friend put it on her syllabus to hit that “how do you talk about something if we have no language to talk about it?” conundrum.

  3. karirockjuice says:

    The chris brown rihanna situtation angers me. At first, all of Hollywood was speaking out, saying that it wasn’t right, that Chris Brown was in the wrong, etc. Then a bunch of these Hollywood celebs “took it back” and were supporting Chris Brown during his “difficult time”. Referring to there being so much pressure on him, blah, blah, blah. Excuse me, but what a bunch of horse sh*t. I’m getting worked up just typing about it.

Leave a Reply

