I got really sick a few weeks ago. What makes me feel best is cartoons.  And not just, like, whatever is on but specifically Strawberry Shortcake (old school only), SpongeBob SquarePants, and/or Carebears.  I have gotten over the embarrassment of admitting this. It works.  

But this sickness hit me while I was in New York.  I couldn’t (or was too lazy to) find a video store, I didn’t have someone to go get me the vids, and freakin Netflix didn’t have any instant watchers that I wanted to see!  To try and get out of the apartment already I walked around the block and, to my surprise, found a Sephora.  

Ok, I’m not a math person, so bear with me…

Sephora: 20-something women as Candy store: 12- year old (give or take two years) kid

 I think we can do some deductions using a=b, b=c, a=c, or something and say like: If I’m a 20-something woman, with a 12 year old mentality, Sephora can sub out cartoons and be my candy store?

 That makes no sense, American Idols on and I’m distracted (Matt Giraud is being robbed by the judges as we speak).  Anyway the whole point of this post was to tell you about two things that I bought when sick, and one a while ago, and how they’ve changed my makeup life.*

 The NARS eyeshadow smudge brush is amazing.  It makes all your eyeshadows smokey and wonderful.  Not that I do this a lot, but if you wake up and have makeup still on, the smudge brush is a quick fix to make it look like you didn’t just roll out of bed.  This was a pre-sick in NYC purchase.

 

This rub on blush pushes up like a push-pop.  Even if you put WAAAAYYYY too much on it blends in really nicely and lasts all day.  It makes my fingers feel weird when I rub it in, but that could just be me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The goji berry base intrigued me….and the fact that it’s supposed to do a unique shade of pink on every lip based on something scientific.  It ends up looking more like a stain than a gloss as the night goes on, but I love this gloss.  It goes on clear then turns to pink! It’s super smooth too, it doesn’t get clumpy or gross like a lot of lip glosses.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Hyperbole used for dramatic purposes.

2 responses »

  1. mrred says:

    Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.

  2. ebats says:

    oooh, now I really want to try that gloss… I am totally going to drag my sis to Sephora this weekend.
    and i LOVED Strawberry Shortcake when I was little! I am sure I have a picture of me in a Strawberry Shortcake tee at four, careening down the slope of our driveway in a blur on my Smurf-mobile (NO JOKE. my first bike was a smurf-mobile)

    I kind of feel like our generation had way better cartoons than the current one, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

