I saw a film last night called Little Ashes. It’s a tiny film based on the young lives of Federico Garcia Lorca, Luis Buñuel and Salvador Dali when they attended school together in Madrid. The film explores Lorca and Dali’s changing relationship, the political climate in Spain during the 1920s and Dali’s rise among Surrealists. What makes this interesting is that current teen heartthrob, Robert Pattinson, plays the role of Dali.

rp

I’ll be the first to admit, I was initially only interested in the film because he was in it. I’ve seen Twilight, which is an abomination (it’s like a car accident that you just CANNOT stop watching) and I was intrigued to see what Pattinson could do with an eccentric exhibitionist such as Dali. I came out of the theater liking it and when I thought about it this morning, I liked it even more. There was a lot of change happening in Spain during Dali’s formative years – and to put it all into a two hour film is pretty impressive. I know very little, save for what I’ve read, or the few Buñuel films I’ve watched but I found myself wanting to know much more about these men and their contributions to the art world. Filmed on location in Spain, it is simply beautiful.

What I think will be interesting is how Pattinson’s Twlight fame influences the distribution of the film. I’ve come across a few articles asking fans to call their local theaters to screen the movie. Will they be upset to find their dear Edward Cullen on a rooftop, half naked with another man? Or will they embrace Pattinson as an actor without altering their obsession? How do you remove yourself from a film franchise that brands you so completely? If Little Ashes does play to a wider audience, I think it will be very interesting to see how Edward fans react. Either way, Pattinson is legit in my book. And the film – I’ll see it again when I get the chance.

5 responses »

  1. karirockjuice says:

    I saw his indie film How to Be the other week, and in that film he was purposely made to look like a completely unattractive weirdo. Short pants, weird hair, awkward mannerisms, the whole nine yards. It was an interesting movie and although I was disturbed by the way he looks, he did good job playing an awkward weirdo – very believable. And I’m also still obsessed with him.

  2. karirockjuice says:

    I saw his indie film How to Be the other week, and in that film he was purposely made to look like a completely unattractive weirdo. Short pants, weird hair, awkward mannerisms, the whole nine yards. It was an interesting movie and although I was disturbed by the way he looks, he did good job playing an awkward weirdo – very believable. And I’m still obsessed with him.

  3. karirockjuice says:

    Sorry that posted twice.

  4. ebats says:

    oh man, I was totally going to make the How To Be comment. I saw it too, and really liked what RP did with the role ( & I actually think he is kind of weird looking to begin with, it’s just that i go for weird in a big way)…and that it’s a bit of a shame that some people will only ever think of him as “that Twilight dude” when I think its pretty clear that his skills as an actor far exceed that [really fun, but, let’s face it, not exactly brilliant] franchise. i think being british might work in his favor. acting seems to be viewed as more of a craft over there than a money-making juggernaut– like you’re always as good as your best work, not just your most famous work.

    on a similar note, I recently watched “The Cake Eaters” because Kristen Stewart is in it and i’ve been half in love with her since i saw her in Speak a million years ago. “The Cake Eaters” was really good, and I was impressed with the physical commitment she had to make to the role.

    I don’t know…I think if an actor is really good, they will eventually out-grow whatever franchise they may have unwittingly got themselves mired in [I think it’s interesting to note that both RP and KS thought they were doing some tiny cult-film when they signed on for Twilight, and that no one was ever going to watch it]. Both these actors being so young can only work in their favor; they have plenty of time to do other projects. And in the mean time, it’s good fun to watch them make out on screen in white makeup and gold contacts, even if I have to mentally revise all their lines. 😛

  5. stephoh says:

    ledeb, great review! now i’m going to have to see it! i think the laemele (I know there’s lots of l’s and e’s somewhere in there) on 2nd and Santa Monica is playing it, might have to check it out!

Leave a Reply

