Being that I live in MN, I am not sure if this story is as popular around the country as it is in my state.  The controversy is written about here in which a 13-yr-old is denying cancer treatment due to religious beliefs. He has a very curable cancer yet his parents will only agree to natural therapies. I am having such a hard time with this moral story, fact is, I don’t know who’s right and who’s wrong? If it is against your religion, are you obligated to NOT ALLOW your child the appropriate medicines to cure their disease? If you are the public attorney, are you obligated to defend this child against his family who loves him because they may be threatening his life? I personally think these parents are crazy and this kid should have gone to the hospital the day he was diagnosed to start his chemo, but I don’t share his religion or views on the issue.

What do you think?

2 responses »

  1. Kari says:

    Tough call. I just read the article. I’m torn. On one hand, I feel all Law and Order-ish and want to see the justice system in action and fighting for this boys life. On the other hand, I kind of admire his religious convictions – don’t agree with them, but admire them. Seems like the bottom line is that he was dealt a bad hand when it came to parents.

  2. stephoh says:

    My grandparents were Christian Scientists, I’ve had to go over this debate time and time again. My Grandma had, we think, Dementia but we were unable to diagnose because of her unwillingness to meet with doctors. She wasn’t stubborn or rude, just not interested in compromising her beliefs.

    At the end of the day, I think it’s perfectly ok for anyone to deny treatment for any reason. The only dicey thing here is that a 13 year old isn’t mature enough to make a decision and might find in 10 years that he doesn’t share his family’s religious convictions…if he makes it that long.

Leave a Reply

