I teach first grade in a bilingual school in Germany.  So, I was looking through of my first graders’ finished “work”, and I came across this little pearl:

DSC02622

You have to read it using German phonetics.  So, it says “I play every day”.  Then you see a little figures, one saying “I’m your dad” and the other saying “No”.  At first glance, I thought this little guy was telling me he plays house every day, and my mind went awwwwwwwwwwww, cute!  Then I noticied the little figures have light sabers.  OH–lightbulb–he’s drawing the famous “Luke, I am your father” scene from Star Wars, but he translated it in his head from German and came up with “I’m your dad”!  So darling, although it doesn’t quite have the same timeless ring to it.  

Speaking of which…”Luke, I am your father” is not the actual line from the movie (damn you, Tommy Boy!).  It is actually, “No, I am your father.”  Here’s a collection of other often-msiquoted movie lines for those of you who enjoy such trivia:

http://movies.yahoo.com/feature/access-hollywood-movie-misquotes.html

Seriously, “Hello, Clarice” is not real?

About biguinberlin

I am a mid-moving-toward-late-twentysomething Iowan living in Berlin. I moved here as a nanny, which quickly fizzled, and have been teaching English immersion at an international elementary school for the last 3+ years. Although I (usually) have the patience of a saint when it comes to children, my fuse runs short when it comes to other adults. On an average day, I interact with many, many strange, socially inept and just plain annoying people. Read my posts to hear about my strange encounters and the gripes that result from them.

2 responses »

  1. Kirsey says:

    That’s hilarious! Love that you’re back on the blog! I can’t get over the top ten mis-quotes, I feel cheated.

  2. stephoh says:

    Amazing!

Leave a Reply

