and therefore my favorite

Much as I love Christmas with an unholy zeal, December itself can be a real drag:  everything is dead and gray and the light is gone.  No wonder people hole up inside drinking eggnog and decorating with lights and brightly colored ornaments.  

But October?  

October is just glorious.  The death-throes of summer are so violently lovely– the sky a blue so pure it almost hurts to look at, and all the leaves flaring up red and gold and orange as they burn out.  It’s the  perfect combination of heart-piercing natural beauty and the macabre.  The fields are plowed over into dark stretches of black loam and all the produce that shows up at the markets glows white and orange. Everything seems to be on fire or smoldering down to black piles of ash. 

There is a bit of a nip in the air on Saturday mornings now as I navigate the crazed spectacle of the Farmers’ Market, where I picked these up:

100_2966

100_2969

I love it when things aren’t the color you expect.  Especially when the color they actually are leans toward the creeptastic, like these ghostly white pumpkins and black corn with crackling purple husks.   The cognitive dissonance of looking at something a little…off…keeps things just surreal enough to be interesting.  And by “interesting,” I mean “unnerving.” 

You can see why I can’t wait for Halloween (and you are not going to believe my costume…). Happy October, everyone!

3 responses »

  1. leDeb says:

    I absolutely love this! October is one of my favorite months, and not only because it’s my birthday month. This is the time of year when I get especially nostalgic for seasons…California doesn’t do much in terms of ushering in the “fall.” Thanks for the lovely and delightful post!

  2. Kirsey says:

    I’m LOVING those corn cobs, hoping to score some of my own up here in MN. Great post, just can’t wait for the follow-up of you in your halloween costume!!! YES.

  3. […] Welcome to October, creepiest month of the year… […]

Leave a Reply

