When ordering products online, sometimes I click “send gift receipt/ card” just to pretend someone is sending me something*.

*Like,  one time, freshman year, I was at Boston University and particularly depressed because of the dual insult of antique ring shopping with a guy friend (all the antique dealers pulled out engagement rings. Um, no, not that kind of ring!) and of being tossed from a shopping cart by another guy friend while trying to save on the taxi fare from BC to BU and landing on my knee caps.  I forced the latter to write a card to the farmers market flowers I had just bought myself and left the bouquet/note on my dorm desk so my roommate couldn’t possibly miss that I {surprise!} had a secret admirer!

Leave a Reply

