You know, I’m just going to let the pictures speak for themselves…

Merry and bright, as seen from the courtyard of my apartment complex

It's a pre-lit tree, but that didn't stop me from putting on SEVEN extra strands of bubble lights.

Shiny Brites, cardinals and bubble lights.

The mantle. I cut out about 300 paper snowflakes by hand. Every one is different.

My grandmother's silver set, which I totally gave myself tendonitis while polishing. It was worth it, though. Look how SHINY!

Distressed mercury-glass votive, unidentified skull under bell jar. Scary + beautiful = Creepyglitz

Two turtle doves! And apothecary jars full of candy canes!

Hope all of you are enjoying the list-making and cookie-baking and present-wrapping! And if you’re feeling overwhelmed or having holiday heart palpitations over how much freaking shit is left to do (I still need to pack, drive to Pennsylvania, make 50 lbs of candy, decorate my mother’s house…etc, etc), just remember that you could have it worse:  you could be pregnant and riding a donkey across the desert so you can pay the Roman Empire a massive sum in taxes.   Or, you could be on fire. 

See?  Don’t you feel better?

Pour a little brandy in the eggnog and bite the head off a gingerbread man.  It’s the most wonderful time of the year.

5 responses »

  1. leDeb says:

    I love this!! I have absolutely no holiday decorations in my apartment. Nothing. It’s even void of Christmas cards, so this makes me happy to see. Well done my dear!

  2. ebats says:

    thanks, doll! my tree has enough lights for both of us; glad it could be of service 😉

  3. Kirsey says:

    This is the first year of my life we didn’t have a tree, just too much going on and couldn’t get ourselves out there to buy one. Your place looks amazing, glad to see the Christmas spirit is very alive and well! Hope you had a great Christmas, it’s crazy how fast it crept up.

  4. […] enjoy this holiday so much.  Not that it takes much to make me geek out on a holiday (Seriously?  SERIOUSLY), but Easter’s creep factor is high enough that I would be behind it even if I were not a […]

Leave a Reply

